Resolutions for a happy 2014

Since my husband first cheated on me 6ish years ago I lost my dog to lymphoma (2011), was diagnosed with a potentially life threatening blood condition (2010) and had 2 cancer scares (2007 breast, 2013 uterine).  In the past 6 years I have had 3 CT scans, 9 MRI’s, countless venous ultrasounds and am scheduled for a stereotactic biopsy next week for new, abnormal breast calcifications.  I am in my early 40’s but seem to have constant health issues which require tests and appointments and waiting for results.  Every time I go through a health scare my anxiety levels rise to unfathomable levels to coincide with my completely unrealistic, fatalistic fears.   I am usually a sensible person, but when it comes to my health I can not reason with myself.  

I completely believe that my health issues are worsened by my stress levels, so for 2014, I am going to resolve to reduce the amount of stress in my life through any means possible.  I will do this through these lifestyle changes that don’t all sound fun on paper, but if they reduce my cortisol levels the outcome will be well worth it:

–   Finally learn to meditate and stick with a daily practice.

–   Reduce my sugar intake.

–   Eat more veggies and less processed food. 

–   Work with my therapist to learn active methods to control my fatalistic thinking.

–   Spend more time having fun – say yes to more invitations – open my heart to more friendships

–   Reduce my iPhone use & don’t sleep with it next to my bed.

–   Get a pot prescription for when all else fails!

One comment on “Resolutions for a happy 2014

  1. These sound like some great resolutions! I hope your health improves exponentially! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

